The Norwood Scale of Hair Loss


Most men’s hair loss will follow a pattern that has been codified in a table called the Norwood Scale (see below). The type of Norwood pattern an individual will have apears to be determined genetically. There are seven patterns of hair loss identified in the Norwood Scale:

Norwood Type I being a normal head of hair with no visible hair loss.
Norwood Type II showing the hair receding in a wedge-shaped pattern.
Norwood Type III shows the same receding pattern as Norwood II, except the hairline has receded deeper into the frontal area and the temporal area.
Norwood Type IV indicates a hairline that has receded more dramatically in the frontal region and temporal area. Additionally there is a balding area at the very top center of the head, but there is a bridge of hair remaining between that region and the front.
Norwood Type V shows that very same bridge between the frontal region and the top center, also called the vertex, beginning to thin.
Norwood Type VI indicates that the bridge between the frontal region and the vertex has disappeared.
Norwood Type VII shows hair receding all the way back to the base of the head and the sides just above the ears.

Norwood Hair Loss Scale


Filed under Hair Loss Information by on . Comment#

Comments on The Norwood Scale of Hair Loss Leave a Comment

July 13, 2009

Sarah @ 1:50 am #

Hi ,

Nice information!!

July 14, 2009

Very useful information on the norwood scale of hair loss. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Comment

Fields marked by an asterisk (*) are required.